2012 BH&HS Annual Conference (Video Recording)


June 7-9, 2012

Click on the links below in RED to watch the presentations. (Note: Due to technical issues, a handful of the breakout sessions were not recorded.) You may also view photos from the conference.

Hosted by
First Baptist Church Raleigh, N. Salisbury Street
& First Baptist Church Raleigh, S. Wilmington St.
in conjunction with Campbell University
Raleigh, North Carolina


Glenn Jonas (Charles B. Howard Professor of Religion and Chair of the Department of Religion, Campbell University)

Bill Leonard (Dunn Chair of Baptist Studies and Professor of Church History, Wake Forest School of Divinity)

Fisher Humphreys (Retired, Professor of Divinity, Beeson Divinity School)

Program Information

* All events were at First Baptist, N. Salisbury Street unless indicated otherwise

Auxiliary Meeting, Thursday Afternoon — June 7
4:00 PM – Fellowship of Baptist Historians Feature Presentation: Tony Cartledge (Campbell University Divinity School), “Samuel Cartledge and the Long Arm of Daniel and Martha Stearns Marshall”

5:00 PM – Fellowship of Baptist Historians Dinner

Thursday Evening — June 7
6:30 PM – Welcome, Introductions and Greetings
7:00 PM – Glenn Jonas: “Nurturing the Vision: Highlights from a 200 Year Old Baptist Church in Raleigh”
8:00 PM – Refreshments and Book Signing

Friday Morning Session — June 8
8:00 – 8:30 AM –  Devotional and Reports
8:30 – 9:30 AM – Session I, Breakout Paper Presentations

Moderator: Gary Burton, Pintlala Baptist Church, Hope Hull, Alabama

Joseph Super
West Virginia University

Benjamin Ross
Sixth Mount Zion
Baptist Church,
Richmond, VA

Bill Sumners
Southern Baptist
Historical Library
& Archives

Moderator: Carol Crawford Holcomb, University of Mary Hardin Baylor

Jerry Faught
Wiley College

David Stratton
Woodhaven Baptist Church
Apex, NC

Nicholas T. Pruitt
Baylor University

9:30 – 10:00 Refreshments
10:00 – 11:00 Session II, Breakout Paper Presentations

Moderator: Mike Kuykendal, Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary

Bill Pitts
Baylor University

Curtis Freeman
Duke University Divinity

Moderator: Elizabeth Wells, Samford University

Michael A. Dain
Wayland Baptist University

Craig Sherouse
Second Baptist Church
Richmond, VA

Marc S. Mullinax
Mars Hill College

11:00 – 11:30 Refreshments
11:30 – 12:30 PM – Session III, Breakout Paper Presentations

Moderator: Fisher Humphreys, Retired, Samford University

Jay Smith
Yellowstone Theological

Steve Harmon
University Divinity School

Philip E. Thompson
Sioux Falls Seminary

Moderator: Pamela Durso, Baptist Women in Ministry

J. M. Abrahamse
Dutch Baptist Seminary

Doug Weaver
Baylor University

12: 30 PM – Business Session
12:50 PM – Jay Smith: Introduction to Yellowstone Theological Institute
1:00 PM – Awards Luncheon

Friday Evening: First Baptist Church, S. Wilmington — June 8
(Note: This one session is open for free to the local public)
7:00 PM – Welcome and Introductions
7:15 PM – Dumas A. Harshaw: “A Brief Sketch of the History of FBC S. Wilmington, Raleigh”
7:30 PM – Special Music
7:45 PM – Bill Leonard: “Conviction and Contradiction: Reassessing Theological Formation in Baptist Identity”
8:45 PM – Refreshments

Saturday Morning — June 9

8:30 AM – Breakfast and Presentation Sponsored by CBF North Carolina and Baptists Today
9:45 AM –Welcome and Announcements
9:50 AM – Preview of 2013 Conference
10:00 AM – Annual Meeting Evaluation Forms
10:05 AM – Introduction of Speaker
10:10  AM – Fisher Humphreys: “To Go Forward We Must First Go Back: Baptist Theology Since 1950”
11:00 AM – Audience Participation
11:15 AM — Closing Notes
11:30 PM – Adjournment


Breakout Schedule and Paper Presenters

Breakout Sessions schedule with times, titles and presenters (pdf document)

Presenters and Affiliations
J. M. Abrahamse (Dutch Baptist Seminary, Netherlands)
Sheryl Dawson Adams (Gardner-Webb University, Boiling Springs, NC)
Mikael Broadway (Shaw University Divinity School, Raleigh, NC)
Michael A. Dain (Wayland Baptist University, Lubbock, TX)
Jerry Faught (Wiley College, Marshall, TX)
Curtis Freeman (Duke Divinity School, Durham, NC)
John Hammett (Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC)
Steve Harmon (Gardner-Webb University Divinity School, Boiling Springs, NC)
Deane Langdon (Lompoc, CA)
Steve Lemke (New Orleans Theological Seminary, LA)
Marc S. Mullinax (Mars Hill College, Mars Hill, NC)
Welford Orrock (Second Baptist Church, Richmond, VA)
Bill Pitts (Baylor University, Waco, TX)
Nicholas T. Pruitt (Graduate Student, Baylor University, Waco, TX)
Benjamin Ross (Sixth Mount Zion Baptist Church, Richmond, VA)
Craig Sherouse (Second Baptist Church, Richmond, VA)
Jay Smith (First Baptist Church, Bozeman, MT)
David Stratton (Woodhaven Baptist Church, Apex, NC)
Tracey Mark Stout (Bluefield College, Bluefield, VA)
Bill Sumners (Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives, Nashville, TN)
Joseph Francis Super (Graduate Student, West Virginia University)
Philip E. Thompson (Sioux Falls Seminary, SD)
Aaron Weaver (Graduate Student, Baylor University, Waco, TX)
Doug Weaver (Baylor University, Waco, TX)

* Note: Paper presenters will need to register for the conference.